Learning, Growth, Respect, Responsibility, Community.

Governing Board

The Governing Board is a committee legislated by the Government, in which equal numbers of parents and staff are represented. The objective of this committee reflects the desire to decentralize decision making, leaving individual schools to make decisions that are in the best interests of their students.

Members of the school participate in the governance of the school by serving on various committees. Most committees are initiated by the school board, principal, teachers and parents. Each faculty member is enouraged to be on at least one committee on which he/she is willing to serve.

The current composition of the Merton Governing Board (2023-2024) is as follows:

Parent Representatives:Shoshana Weinberger (Past Chairperson)
Jordana Kujavsky (Chair)
Marissa Lydynia (Vice Chairperson)
Simcha Solomon (Secretary)
Josh Gonshor (Treasurer/EMSB PC Alternate)
Steven Merlin (EMSB PC Delegate)
David Tordjman (Alternate replacement)
Heidi Cheung (Alternate replacement)
Teaching Staff Representatives:Georgia Gotsis
Tania Siconolfi
Cindy Norman
Judith Haziza
Pascale Nizri-Lallouz
Home and School Representative:Samantha Patel
Community Representative:Carol Meindl
School Commissioner:Jamie Fabien
Principal:Rosana Caplan


Governing Board meetings are held monthly at 7:30 p.m. online.

  • October 24, 2023
  • November 28, 2023
  • January 23, 2024
  • February 20, 2024
  • March 26, 2024
  • April 18, 2024
  • May 21, 2024
  • June 13, 2024

Want to know more?

More information on Governing Boards can be found by consulting the EMSB website by clicking on the link below:

School Governing Boards
Skip to content